Late Monday night, Governor Newsom signed legislation that extends the State’s eviction moratorium through Sept. 30, 2021. The new law leverages $5 billion in federal rental assistance to help the State’s tenants and small landlords. The legislation enhances current State law by increasing rental assistance to 100 percent of rent that is past due because of COVID-related reasons, and for prospective payments. This agreement ensures that rental assistance funds stay in California by prioritizing cities and counties with currently unmet needs and will further protect vulnerable households from eviction.

To learn more about the California Rental Assistance Payment Program visit Housing is Key. The application takes approximately 30 minutes, is available in six languages, and you can complete it on a smartphone. Applicants will not be asked about, nor required to show proof of citizenship.

Residents are eligible to apply if they have qualified for unemployment benefits or experienced a reduction in household income, incurred significant costs, or experienced other financial hardship due to COVID-19; have a household income that is not more than 80 percent of the Area Median Income; and demonstrate a risk of experiencing homelessness or housing instability, which may include:

  • a past-due utility or rent notice or eviction notice;
  • unsafe or unhealthy living conditions; or
  • any other evidence of such risk, as determined by the program.


The eviction moratorium for L.A. County, previously set to expire on Jun. 30, has been extended an additional three months by the Board of Supervisors. The eviction moratorium, now set to expire on Sept. 30, prevents landlords of residential and commercial properties from evicting tenants for reasons related to financial hardships which have arisen due to the pandemic. Also included under the County’s renter protection are provisions that prevent certain additional costs accruing during the duration of the moratorium. Some of these protections include prohibiting late fees and other related charges, as well as other costs not included in the current month’s rent. For more information, click here or call (833) 223-7368.